When…

Silence was my best friend;
unseen… unheard…
Not knowing which shade of consequence
at the end of a spoken word

Losing self in distant dreams;
unreal… detached…
Finding lessons through daunting means,
while ends remained unmatched

On shaded grounds I nestled;
away… at peace…
Hidden by nature’s camouflage ‘til
heaven’s moon stole my reprieve

Longing for my tomorrows;
not now… not here…
The life I’d rule with love and wisdom,
instead of rejection and fear

Listening closely to the world;
this heart… no wall…
Absorbing all of life’s dark hues,
seeing light within them all

Time was ever slow to move;
so still… so stale…
But change – a rabid thief in the night,
ran rampant as a fleeting gazelle

No one seemed to measure up;
not them… not me…
No portion or package good enough;
how could we all just be?

Holding my breath as I marched;
in place… alone…
The rambling mind of a drifting child
whose knowing was her own.

For Dungeon Prompts: What did you forget after growing up?

13 thoughts on “When…

  1. Pingback: Dungeon Prompts: Why do you blog? | The Seeker's Dungeon

  2. Sounds like you were a lonely survivor. I’m glad you had nature to give you peace and that you had a vision of the life you wanted to live … “The life I’d rule with love and wisdom, instead of rejection and fear”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Dungeon Prompts: What did you forget? | The Seeker's Dungeon

Share your thoughts...

